News Stories

Seven LGBTQ+ Elected Leaders Chosen for Prestigious Bohnett Fellowship at Harvard Kennedy School

WASHINGTON – Today LGBTQ+ Victory Institute announced it selected seven LGBTQ+ elected and public officials for its David Bohnett Leaders Fellowship, a program that includes a three-week intensive leadership development course at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. The fellowship – a collaboration with the David Bohnett Foundation – aims to propel LGBTQ+ leaders into the next stage of their public service careers. Notable alumni include California Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins, Colorado State Senator Dominick Moreno and Wisconsin State House Democratic Leader Greta Neubauer.

Annise Parker, LGBTQ+ Victory Institute President & CEO, issued the following statement:

“We chose these seven Bohnett Leaders Fellows because of their deep commitment to community leadership and public service,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ+ Victory Institute. “Each of the communities these fellows represent will benefit from their time at Harvard Kennedy school, where they’ll learn about skills and policies they can implement back home. We are especially proud that red states are well-represented in this year’s cohort, as we continue to build the leadership pipeline in states where our community is most targeted. I congratulate each of our 2024 fellows and I look forward to seeing how they’ll grow through this program.”

The 2024 David Bohnett Leaders Fellow are:

  • Victor Aguilar, San Leandro City Council, California
  • Rachel Bell, General Sessions Court, Division VIII (8) & Music City Community Court, Presiding Judge, Tennessee
  • Jason Hoskins, State Representative, Michigan
  • Tippi McCullough, State Representative, Arkansas
  • Fabian Nelson, State Representative, Mississippi
  • Kameron Nelson, State Representative, South Dakota
  • Zooey Zephyr, State Representative, Montana

More information about the David Bohnett Leaders Fellowship is available at

Read full article: